Friday, April 30, 2010

WSOP - PartyPoker News: The Million Dollar Hand Returns In May! Over $175,000 Extra Up For Grabs For Palladium Lounge Members

Gibraltar – 29th April 2010 - The Million Dollar Hand at is back! The popular promotion runs from Tuesday 4th May until Tuesday 23rd May. The Million Dollar Hand offers the chance to win a cool $1 million or even more! Players at’s real money tables will get a playing card for every 15 PartyPoints they earn during this period and will receive a prize when they’ve built a five-card hand. There’s a guaranteed cash prize if the hand features a pair or better – a royal flush will pay $1 million!

There is no limit on the number of royal flushes that can be hit and the promotion starts with players getting their first card for free. This card will be available in a player’s PartyAccount on Tuesday 4th May. Points are not removed from player accounts following the promotion – they all count towards Palladium Lounge targets. ‘The Million Dollar Hand’ 4th – 23rd May 2010 - Prize Structure

Royal flush $1,000,000

Straight flush $10,000

Four of a kind $1,000

Full house $150

Flush $100

Straight $50

Three of a kind $20

Two pair $10

One pair $3

Players will only be able to reveal a maximum of two hands per day across the whole of the promotion period. All players have to go to their Party Account to reveal their cards; any unrevealed card/hand will not be taken into account. Full terms and conditions can be found at

More information can be found at:

A spokesman said: “The Million Dollar Hand is back! As Mike Sexton says ‘May all your cards be live and your pots be monsters!’ Thousands of cards are set to be revealed from Tuesday 4th May. The question remains – will the big one hit this time around? We’ve seen straight flushes and scared the insurers but nobody has hit the royal…yet! The Million Dollar Hand also provides amazing extra value for members of the Palladium Lounge through the VIP Race.”

For members of the Palladium Lounge there is a brilliant value Million Dollar Hand VIP Race with more than $175,000 and $13,000 WSOP packages up for grabs. All Palladium Lounge members have to do is earn cards through the Million Dollar Hand as normal and for every one pair or better, in addition to the normal cash prizes, they will earn points which contribute towards the race. For more information see:

World Series of Poker”® and “WSOP”®, WSOPE”® are registered trade marks of Harrah’s License Company LLC. No license, affiliation, sponsorship, or endorsement is claimed, or should be inferred from the use of these trademarks here. PartyGaming is not licensed by or otherwise affiliated with Harrah’s License Company LLC or the World Series of Poker®, in any way.

Website Network

Media Man

Global Gaming Directory

Poker News Media

Media Man Poker

Media Man Casino

Casino News Media

Sunday, April 18, 2010

WSOP Releases Top 20 Tournament of Champions Vote-Getters

On Friday, World Series of Poker (WSOP) officials released the top 20 vote-getters for the 2010 Tournament of Champions, which will be played in an all-star game format. The list predictably features some of the top names in poker.

The top three bracelet winners in WSOP history would make their way to Las Vegas to play in the 2010 Tournament of Champions if voting closed today. Phil Hellmuth appears on the list of the top 20 vote-getters and leads the industry with 11 bracelets. Hellmuth has more than $6 million in career WSOP earnings, but has been shut out of the bracelet podium since 2007, when he took down a $1,500 No Limit Hold’em tournament for $637,000. Also appearing in the top 20 are Doyle Brunson and Johnny Chan, who hold 10 WSOP bracelets each, tied for the second most overall.

A total of $1 million will be up for grabs in the Tournament of Champions, which will see 27 players take to the felts on June 27th at the Rio. Five players have qualified automatically for the prestigious event, including Joe Cada and Barry Shulman, who won the 2009 WSOP Main Event and WSOP Europe Main Event, respectively. The three previous winners of the Tournament of Champions events also received automatic bids: Annie Duke (2004), Mike Matusow (2005), and Mike Sexton (2006). Two more spots in the 2010 version will be awarded to qualifiers, although WSOP officials have not announced how players can enter. The tournament will be carried on ESPN.

Only three WSOP Main Event champions since 2000 appear in the top 20 vote-getters: Chris Ferguson (2000), Greg Raymer (2004), and Joe Hachem (2005). Curiously absent is Chris Moneymaker, widely considered to be the man who ignited the modern poker boom after winning the $10,000 buy-in tournament in 2003. A total of 250,000 votes have been cast so far and fans of the game who have not yet weighed in can do so anytime before June 15th at Midnight ET.

Harrah’s Interactive Entertainment Vice President Ty Stewart, who was a recent guest on the sponsored poker news show “Poker2Nite,” commented in a press release, “The poker community has rallied behind this event and judging by the results thus far, hosting a tournament with a field such as this would be a tremendous event. Saying that, the voting is so tight and close and with two months of voting to go, we can see this list changing dramatically between now and June 15th.”

Only one woman appears in the top 20 vote-getters for the 2010 WSOP Tournament of Champions, Full Tilt Poker’s Jennifer Harman. She’s a two-time WSOP bracelet winner and one of the industry’s top ambassadors. Harman is fresh off holding her annual fundraiser benefiting the Nevada Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals and, along with Barry Greenstein, has long been associated with the world of charity.

Also lobbying hard, but not making the current top 20, is Annette “Annette_15” Obrestad, the 2007 WSOP Europe Main Event champion. Obrestad had been camped out in Las Vegas tuning up for the 2010 WSOP, which kicks off on May 28th. She also revealed that she may head to Monaco for the European Poker Tour (EPT) Monte Carlo Grand Final, but will enter the $25,000 World Poker Tour (WPT) Championship first. The WPT Championship kicks off on Sunday from the Bellagio.

Also noticeably absent from the list are the game’s “young guns,” who include Obrestad, Jason Mercier, Brandon Cantu, and Eric “basebaldy” Baldwin. Here are the top 20 vote getters for the 2010 WSOP Tournament of Champions as of Friday. WSOP officials posted the list in alphabetical order:

Doyle Brunson
Johnny Chan
T.J. Cloutier
Allen Cunningham
Antonio Esfandiari
Sam Farha
Chris Ferguson
Barry Greenstein
Joe Hachem
Jennifer Harman
Dan Harrington
Phil Hellmuth
Phil Ivey
John Juanda
Howard Lederer
Daniel Negreanu
Scotty Nguyen
Greg Raymer
Huck Seed
Erik Seidel

Voters can select up to 20 bracelet winners using an online ballot.

(Credit: Poker News Daily)

Website Network

Poker News Media

Casino News Media

Media Man

Global Gaming Directory

Media Man Casino